Newsletter July 2004



Campaigning for a change in Labour policy to bring about an end to selection at 11 both by ability and aptitude

Patrons

Fiona Millar
Lord Hunt of Kings
Heath
Chair
David Chaytor MP
Secretary
Margaret Tulloch
Treasurer
Malcolm Horne
Gen Sec SEA

Last chance for change?

From July 23rd to 25th the National Policy Forum will meet to agree the policy document on education. The NPF is made up of CLP and regional representatives, elected MPs and MEPs, affiliated organisations, the entire NEC, local and national government members and representatives of affiliated unions and socialist societies. A draft document, combining health and education, will be sent to NPF members before the meeting. NPF members can propose amendments. If they are carried through to the final plenary and agreed by 50% of the membership they will be in the document which goes to the party conference to form the manifesto. Overleaf is the most up to date list of NPF membership we have — recent elections will have made a difference. Please make contact with any members you can through your local CLP, local forums or personally. Urge them to ensure the document includes a promise to take action to bring about an end to selection on ability and

• Comprehensive Future fringe at Brighton

Ending selection — third term lucky?

Wednesday September 29th, 1pm, Creation night club, West Street (opposite the conference centre).

Speakers include: Fiona Millar, John Edmonds, Lord Philip Hunt. Refreshments.

aptitude within the first two years of the next parliament.

This venue will be outside the security zone, but very close to the conference, so do come along for what will be an excellent event.

• Support grows for the declaration

Enclosed with this newsletter are some copies of the Comprehensive Future leaflet, including the declaration, which calls for the next Labour manifesto to 'be bold enough to make clear the virtues of a comprehensive system and promise to extend this system to England by ending all selection by ability and aptitude within the first two years of the next parliament'. We want as many CLPs as possible to endorse this declaration and support is coming in fast. We have support from: Ashford, Aylesbury, Bath, Birmingham, Hodge Hill, Birmingham Selly Oak, Brentwood and Ongar, Bury North, Canterbury, Chesham and Amersham, Chichester, Derby North, Gateshead East and Washington West, Gravesham, Harrogate and Knaresborough, Hitchin and Harpenden, Ilford South, Kingswood, Knowsley South, Leeds Central, Liverpool Wavertree, Louth and Horncastle, Luton North, Mid Bedfordshire, Mole Valley, Oldham East and Saddleworth, Oxford and District (Oxford East, West and Abingdon CLPs), Plymouth Sutton, SW Herts, Sherwood, Skegness and Boston, South Gloucs, Stalybridge and Hyde, Stratford upon Avon, Wakefield Rural Labour Party, Wealdon, Wolverhampton NE, Wycombe.

Please sign the declaration, send it to other party members and encourage your CLPs to support it now.

Check out the CF website

Our website — www.comprehensivefuture.org.uk — now has masses of information, amongst which is our submission to the policy consultation which ended in May and three briefings, including one tackling the myth that more working class children went into Higher Education when there were grammar schools. The declaration can also be downloaded.



PO Box 44327 London SW20 0WD

mtulloch@poptel.org

020 8947 5758

National Policy Forum members

East Midlands CLP

Claire Forrest Andrew Furlong Gary Ransford Ann Syrett

Eastern CLP

Beth Kelly Kerry McCarthy James Valentine **Daniel Zeichner**

Greater London CLP

Florence Beetlestone Nicky Gavron Lisa Homan Marie-Louise Nolan

North East CLP

Pamela Hargreaves Chris Jukes Elizabeth Muggleton Sue Stirling

North West CLP

Azhar Ali Ann Coomer **Emily Lomax** Sue Murphy

Scottish LP CLP

Gordon Banks Pauline Bryan Thomas Docherty Rhoda Grant

South East CLP

Simon Burgess **Deborah Gardiner** Carol Hayton Michael Moriaty

South West CLP

Keith Evans Anne Snelgrove Julie Snelling Brenda Weston

Wales CLP

Kenneth Hopkins Ann Morgan Wendy Morgan Hamish Sandison

West Midlands CLP

Qamar Bhatti Ann Lucas Sandra Samuels Susan Woodward

Yorkshire CLP

Jamie Hanley Martha Hanson Diana Jeuda George McManus

East Midlands CLP Yth

Jane Heggie

Eastern CLP Yth Rossanna Trudgian

Greater London CLP Yth

Eleanor Reeves

North East CLP Yth **Bridget Phillipson**

North West CLP Yth Anna Murphy

Scottish LP CLP Yth Gemma Doyle

South East CLP Yth Olivia Bailey

South West CLP Yth Nora Mulready

Wales CLP Yth Stephen Doughty

West Midlands CLP Yth Alex Belardinelli

Yorkshire CLP Yth Henri Murison

Association of Labour Councillors

Lesley Hinds Pauleen Lane Jane Roberts Carole Turner

Local Government Association

Celia Cameron John Gyford Toby Harris Harry Jones

East Midlands Reg

Alan Rhodes Glenis Willmott

Eastern Req

Peter Medhurst Tania Rogers

Greater London Reg

Maggie Cosin Peter Willsman

North East Reg Jane Brown **Tracy Stainton**

North West Reg

Debbie Brannan **Brian Dawson**

Scottish LP Reg Margaret Duffy

South East Reg Duncan Enright

Karie Murphy

Christine Wilde **South West Reg**

Andy Frampton Mary Southcott

Wales LP Req

Gwenda Clucas Stella Matthews

West Midlands Reg

Gerard Coyne Jayne Innes

Yorkshire Reg

Judith Blake Peter Box

Labour Housing Gp SS Jacky Peacock

NULSC SS

William Thomas

Jewish Labour Movt SS Helen Gordon

AMICUS-AEEU TU

Bob Shannon Derek Simpson Ian Geary

ASLEF TU

Dave Tyson

BFAWU TU Merlita Bryan

CWU TU

Jeannie Drake Billy Hayes

FBU TU

John McGhee

GMB TU

Paul Kenny Linda Clarke Libby Swindells

GPMU TU Tony Dubbins

Paul Gates

GFTU-MU TU Barbara White

Lucy Anderson Roger Lyons

CATU TU Gary Oakes

TGWU TU Val Burn

Jack Dromey Tony Woodley Harriet Yeo

UCATT TU

George Brumwell

UNISON TU

Dave Anderson Patricia Hetherton Netta Murray **Dave Prentis**

USDAW TU

Marge Carey Frank Murphy

GMB TU

Kevin Curran

Black Socialist Society

Jeanette Arnold Irma Crichlow Gloria Mills Jim Thakoordin

Co-operative Party

Brenda Forster Peter Hunt Gareth Thomas MP **European Parl Lab Party**

Neena Gill MEP Mary Honeyball MEP Richard Howitt MEP Linda McAven MEP Claude Moraes MEP Brian Simpson MEP

Government

Margaret Beckett MP David Blunkett MP Gordon Brown MP Charles Clarke MP Alistair Darling MP Patricia Hewitt MP John Reid MP Jack Straw MP

NFC.

Douglas Alexander MP Hilary Armstrong MP Jeremy Beecham Ann Black Tony Blair MP Hazel Blears MP Danny Carrigan Michael Cashman MEP Debbie Coulter Jimmy Elsby Mike Griffiths John Hannett Dianne Hayter Diana Holland John Holmes Helen Jackson MP Maggie Jones Shahid Malik Ian McCartney Sally Powell John Prescott MP Jonny Reynolds Tony Robinson Mark Seddon Christine Shawcroft Dennis Skinner MP Cath Speight Norma Stephenson Gary Titley MEP

PI P

Mary Turner

Ruth Turner

Joe Mann MBE

Vera Baird QC MP Anne Begg MP Anne Campbell MP Parmjit Dhanda MP Alf Dubs Mike Gapes MP Linda Gilroy MP Joyce Gould of Potternewton Jim Knight MP Lawrie Quinn MP Dari Taylor MP

Labour Students

Adam Hug